• 2023 Subscriptions

Anyone fancy the Etape Cymru on Sunday 8th September? I am thinking about driving down on the Saturday and stopping Saturday night and possibly Sunday at a nearby campsite. I hope to have the campervan set up for 4-people plus bikes by then.

http://www.etape-cymru.co.uk/

Tom

• 2023 Subscriptions

Getting there Darryl. 3rd week appointment on the 16th. Should be knitted together by then and the next few weeks are for regaining mobility and rebuilding strength. I've been on the turbo every second or third day and it no longer hurts when holding the hoods. I'll leave the drops to next week.

All will be well for Majorca!

Tom

Guest GEORGE DONNELLY

George

It is Wales - hills aplenty. How many birthdays per year does your wife have?

Tom

Tom, being married to a big hunk like me means every day is like her birthday.

I'm a great cook, handy with a trowel, an attentive listener, my ironing skills have to be seen to believed and I'm a great winch.

She's truly blessed.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 months later...
  • 2023 Subscriptions

Billed as the toughest sportive in Britain and I am not going to argue.

Departing from Bangor on Dee racecourse the weather was very cold with a watery sun promising its best but delivering very little by way of heat. Started off with the usual frantic pace as the first 2.5km was somewhere between flat and downhill. It was then that the course began to live up to its name. What followed was as close to an alpine climb as can be found in Britain measuring about 22km with a few very short and very fast downhill sections in between. The descent from the peak was brilliant. 2km of fairly narrow roads, several corners but good sight lines and good tarmac and closed roads. This is where I hit my maximum speed for the day of 65kph. Could have gone a bit faster but it became quite busy near the bottom.