Bellahouston track

Jim thanks for the photo's of the new track it looks more like a go kart track . For all of us that can remember west horn ( London road) track well Bellahouston hasn't a patch on west horn even with its pot holes first time ive known a track to have a kerb around it . Lets hope Jim's photos are not doing the track justice. to quote( Star Trek ) track not as we know it not as we know it !!!

Robert, I'm being careful not to be too critical of the track because I know that a lot of work has gone into getting it to the stage it is at, but I have to agree with your sentiments a wee bit.

I first had a look at the track a month or so ago from the grassy hill overlooking it. Now, I am not an expert on velodromes only having seen one (Newport) in 30 years cycling and have never ridden one yet, but my first thoughts were, "where are the bankings?" Granted the diggers were still in and a lot had still to be done so I assumed that it was early days.Maybe the bankings are there and you have to be on the track to see them ;-)

I was a Bellahouston last weekend for the Youths circuit race and had a look at what stage it was at. And to answer your question, Yes, there is a kerb running round the inside. Whether this goes round all of the track or only on the bends I can't say, but should there be a kerb on a velodrome? It seems pretty obvious to me that for safety there should not be. Hopefully there is still work to be done that will sort that out. From initial anticipation of a great facility, I have to admit to an initial feeling of disappointment and the feeling that we may have missed a great opportunity here (hopefully not). Maybe I was expecting too much.

I will be involved with the Saturday sessions with the Glasgow Riderz youth club based there so we will see how things transpire.

Anyway, once the indoor velodrome is built we won't have to worry! :lol:

Cheers

Mick

• Members