Building a fixie - need bits and HELP !!!

Decided to convert an old bike into a fixed wheel for some winter training and to learn a bit more about how these 2 wheeled things work. Stripped the bike and once I stripped the rear cassette off realised the chain alignment will never work with the current rear wheel. Been to BBJ and he was so helpful, but I don't want to break the bank buying new bits for a v old frame, etc.

Anyway here's what I think I need....oh any help/advice would be greatly received as I'm a newie to this 2 wheeled stuff.

1 set of wheels that will allow spacer set to work or even better Track wheels or at the very least a rear wheel.

1 bottom bracket (the old bike had square taper thingy...see told you I'm new to this :-P ), cranks and 48 chainring.

1 18 tooth back sprocket.

1 seatpost (old one in a terrible state).

1 set Look pedals, not the current clip system but the older one.

The wife has allowed me a small budget ;-) so any help/offers of bits will be gladly received and paid for.

Big thanks,

Al.

What diameter seatpost do you need? I've got a couple lying around, one is 27.0 can't remember what the other one is. (Look at your old seatpost - the diameter should be etched on it near the bottom)

I've also got a spare chainset (square-taper) with a single 38-tooth ring, which you can have foc...teeth a bit worn but usable. It also has an old pair of Shimano spd pedals still attached. It will mean you'll need a smaller sprocket obviously...

hi al,

sorry i can,t give you any bike parts as i have just done the same and built a "fixed" for the winter but i will offer some advice (gratis of course) be prepared to have difficulty walking downstairs due to the pains in your legs!!!after your first serious ride as i had , although maybe the 50 year lay off had something to do with it !! any way the best of luck as it is great fun.

jim montgomery

oban

Well you could but on the other hand you could