my weekend racing

kelly van der toorn

am I the only one doing anything at the moment????

heres my racing news anyway - cant just put it under road racing cos its a bit more than that....

Hectic weekend: Scottish RR champs Saturday afternoon (50 miler) and a "Sprint" Triathlon in Ayr (750m swim, 20k bike, 5k run) on the Sunday morning. Glutton for punishment that I am, I always seem to get stronger just when I shouldnt do. The road race was ok. I have mixed feelings about it as Im hearing stuff now that adds up to me having been marked and singled out from the word go - as Kat said, thats what I get for joining the wheelers - Im known, and yet Im a relative novice which is a laugh. The race had a few breakaway attempts, all of which got chased down at one stage or another. There was a bit of shouting done by Katie Wylie and Shona Robson mainly, and there were 3 Edinburgh roads girls determined to do no work at all. I was also keen to avoid working and soft pedalled whenever I took a turn on the front. The only work I did was upping the speed a bit on hills to stay with the pack. So, knowing there was an uphill drag before a flat sprint finish, I attempted to take a flyer from the back as we came down the fast descent, with a mile and a half to go. Katy et al jumped on my wheel and then EVERYONE boxed me going up the hill and I started the sprint at the back going into the last corner. Fortunately I corner better than most so took the shortest line and scraped back a couple of places going for the line. Moral: sit in and wait for the sprint - I might not be world class at sprinting but Im probably better than most of them.